Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | July 29, 2008

busy again

I’m finally busy at work again and I can’t believe what a difference it makes. I know its a sickness that I like to work as much as I do, but I’m good at it. I was so bored for a such a long person that I thought I was going to lose my mind. I’m not a huge fan of surfing the web all day at work. I don’t like reading the newspaper online. I don’t shop online. It just wasn’t working for me. After 3 months of boredom I’m finally back in my game.

Work is an interesting thing. I’ve been in publishing for so long, it is ingrained in my psyche. I love working in the magazine industry and have concerns about what I’m going to do when we move. I know that I’m just a worker bee – I don’t sell, I don’t write, I just make sure that all the pieces come together. I become a part of the magazines that I work with. I have great sales and editorial staffs who respect me. It’s definitely an important part of who I am. When I got pregnant there was never a question in my mind about whether or not I’d go back to work. I knew that I wouldn’t be a complete person if I didn’t work outside of the home. I feel guilty about it from time to time and look at people who are stay at home moms with a kind of envy that I’m not that type of mom. But its better to know yourself then to conform to what the people around you are doing. What works for one does not work for all.

So thank goodness I’m busy again. The fall magazine season has hit and while my industries are suffering during the recession, I’m hoping that I can keep myself occupied at using my brain.

Leave a Reply

Categories

