Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | October 6, 2008

equality

There have been a lot of things going on that I’m just not ready to write about yet. But in the meantime, I’ve been more aware of politics this season then I think I ever have before. In addition to the insanity of the presidential/vice-presidential campaign, I’ve been paying a lot of attention to some of the other things going on.

One item is gay rights. I have always been firmly in favor of allowing everyone to have the same rights. I don’t see why everyone is so wrapped up in symantics about marriage being between a man and a woman. But even more, I really don’t understand why anyone thinks that only a man and a woman can make a good family. And yet, this is one of the key battles being fought in our presidential election. I was watching this horrifying video on youtube the other day and it just highlighted that it isn’t only Palin who scares me on the Repulican ticket. Sometimes the “traditional” family unit can actually be more harmful then a “non-traditional” one.

I was surfing google news tonight and found an interesting link to this article which is about Brad Pitt donating $100K to fight proposition 8 in California which is trying to overturn the Supreme Court decision legalizing same-sex marriages. Pitt is quite eloquent when he says that he is voting against the proposition because:

“no one has the right to deny another their life, even though they disagree with it, because everyone has the right to live the life they so desire if it doesn’t harm another and because discrimination has no place in America, my vote will be for equality and against Proposition 8.”

For another incredibly eloquent discussion, this is also a fabulous interview between Ellen Degeneres and John McCain earlier this year before she married Portio DeRossi. The transcript can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

