Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | October 31, 2008

Relocation

Trying to figure out where to move to when the world is a partially open book is a horrible experience. Even though it’s my husband’s job that is somewhat dictating where we go, the pressure is somehow on me to make the bulk of the decisions. WHY?!?!?

We are looking for a place that is close to family (relatively), has a good outdoors community, high educational values, culturally aware, strong Jewish community and relatively open-minded. The problem is that as I said, this is also being dictated by my husband’s job offers and just where open jobs that suit his personality are open.

We have an offer on the table for a place that meets a lot of our qualifications, definitely not all, but he’s not thrilled with it. The practice would be perfect in a lot of respects, but not in others. We just got a call from another place and the question has been put to me about whether or not we should interview there. I’m so confused. My gut told me we should probably just go with the offer we have, but I don’t completely understand all of my husband’s misgivings. I told him to go ahead and look at it, he’s given me some good pros about the area. Unfortunately, I keep finding cons that freak me out. The latest is that it would take my family an entire day to get there and 3 airplanes. Somehow I have a feeling that the pros of the area can’t live up to that one. A big thing for me is being able to spend the holidays with family and if we’re isolated in a place that takes 3 airplanes to get almost anywhere, how can it be a good thing? I don’t care that it’s near Boston…..we don’t have family in Boston!

I don’t want to make this decision, but I think I’m going to have to. The problem is, if I make the decision and it doesn’t work out, do I get blamed for it? If he’s miserable in his job, will it be my fault? And what about the munchkin? We need a place where she can be happy.

Who ever thought that when I moved from NY 4 1/2 years ago that making the next decision on where to go would be so incredibly gut wrenching. I moved here without a second thought. Now figuring out where to go next is driving me crazy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

