Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 9, 2009

to work or not to work…

…that is definitely the question. I love working. I’m really good at what I do and I get a huge sense of satisfaction from a job well done. I don’t toot my own horn often, but after years of working, I finally feel that I can say that I am an employee that you want to have working for you.

But now my question is is it worth it? I might have the opportunity to work from home once we move. A lot of it depends on how the industry is doing and how my magazines in particular are doing when we get closer to the move date. Right now, my magazines are struggling to survive the current financial downturn. I’ve been faced with a lot of boredom at work, a lot of waiting for things to come in and find something to do. When that happens, my feeling is – why the hell am I there? Why do I have to sit around the office waiting for things to come through when I could be running errands, cleaning my house, knitting….

When I’m in the office, I’m supposed to respect the rules and act like a nice hourly employee. But in my head, its about doing the job, getting it done and getting it done well. If I’m available by cell phone and email, and there is nothing going on on my desk, why should I have to sit there? What good is it for me to sit at my desk and watch St. Elmo’s Fire? Seriously, that’s what I did today. And I know that if I hypothetically am not working in the office, I’m supposed to also sit around by the computer and phone, waiting for someone to contact me. That’s just plain stupid.

So is there something else? We’re not moving to a big city and I’m not sure what other types of opportunities there will be for me. I know that if I didn’t want to work, I wouldn’t have to, but it is a part of my personality. I don’t really see myself as the stay at home mom. I know that staying at home doesn’t mean just staying with the munchkin and cleaning the house. I realize that there are a number of opportunities to do volunteer work, be a part of schools, etc. But is it me?

Responses

  1. why am i just reading your blog for the first time?
    i love that pic of judy up top….i love every picture of her. she is such a little lady!


Leave a Reply

Categories

