Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 21, 2009

damaged

Life is good, but somehow it seems a little off center right now. We’re finally getting settled with the whole work/moving portion of life, but I’m feeling bored. OK, probably the bigger problem is that I’m sitting at work and I’m bored out of my mind. I spend most of my day watching Damages, which is completely addicting, but not the way I want to spend my day. What am I going to do when I catch up to the current season?

I’m ready to get away from here. OK, wait, that isn’t quite right. I’m ready to get away from the insanity which is my office and the horrors which is my house. We need space. I need a room of my own so I can go sit and read or knit or something while the munchkin sleeps and the husband watches CNN.

This feels like a totally negative post which I wasn’t really intending, so here is a list of important things that I have to remember that are truly wonderful and me

  • playing with the munchkin
  • listening to her attempt to sing songs in Hebrew
  • not just looking through new recipes but actually having the balls to try them
  • knitting….did I mention I’m working on a sweater?
  • reading – I’m devouring books. When are we getting the book club back up and running?!?
  • my friends – I don’t feel like I get enough time with any of them, both local and distant, but I’m trying to find more time for that. It takes a lot of effort, but I damn well better get used to that since we’re moving in a few months.
  • clothes – ok, this is going to sound totally horrible, and I’m trying not to be negative, but some of the clothing choices of people around me are a little less than stellar and it reminds me of who I am and where I come from that I have a sense of style and am not about to be nominated for “what not to wear” even though I really could use the $5K on a new wardrobe.

This has been such a strange time of change. Work has been nutty, but I’m proud that I stand up for myself and don’t allow people to walk all over me. Someone tried to a few weeks ago and I quickly put an end to that.

I think I’m just ready for change. I look forward to having a bit more flexibility in how I spend my days. I’m ready to have some space of my own. I’m ready to get my husband back – residency has been a bear but I see the light at the end of the tunnel. As everyone has been saying the past few days, I’m hopeful for the future. We have a President that I can actually stand behind and I don’t fear for my daughter’s future quite as much as I once did. We can have change but we all have to work for it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

