Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | February 2, 2009

just thinking

The hubby and I actually got to spend some quality time together this weekend!  We sent the munchkin off with Nonno and had some quiet time together. We even got to take a walk together in the beautiful spring-like weather without her and without feeling guilty. We used to take walks all the time, it’s one of the reasons we’re looking forward to going back to NC.  It gave us the chance to just talk and mull over how much things had changed and think about what we would like to see for the future.

We’re thinking that when we move that we’ll rent for a while. I was initially not thrilled with this idea because it’s hard to try and find decent rental properties from afar, but I’m starting to locate some decent properties online and Nonno has offered to drive down as well and check things out for us if we want.  I don’t love the idea of having to move twice, but I definitely agree that getting to know the area first is a much smarter idea. On some levels, I wish that we had rented here. I’m not looking forward to trying to sell this house. But I better get on it.

It’s really sad, but I just actually told my boss that I was bored out of my mind. This economy is killing me. I want to be able to keep my job because I think I’ve figured out a way to make it all work for me, but with the industry suffering so much, I’m never sure if its going to be able to happen. If they have projects that they can hand off to me, I’m more than happy to take them over. Blogging, surfing facebook, instant messaging and watching TV at work is not my idea of a good time. I thinkthe whole thing just pisses me off so much, I could be getting so much more accomplished at home! At least I remembered to actually put the brisket in the crock pot this morning so we’ll have dinner when we get home.

Randomness…One of my favorite songs just came on Pandora. If you haven’t listened to the music from “Once” I highly suggest that you do. The song is “falling slowly” and it is so unbelievably beautiful. The movie was really simple and actually didn’t have much spoken dialogue, but it was one of the most moving films that I have seen in years. The harmonies touch me to the core. How beautiful is this…

You have suffered enough
and warred with yourself
it’s time that you won.

Take this sinking boat and point it home
we’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice
you’ve made now
Falling slowly sing your melody
I’ll sing along.

I guess that’s what it all comes to actually. I’m ready to raise my hopeful voice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

