Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | February 4, 2009

How Starbucks Saved my life

A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else

How Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else by Michael Gates Gill

My review

rating: 3 of 5 stars
This was a really interesting book, but by about half way through I was done. I did finish the book, but I started to skim towards the end.

Michael Gates Gill worked for 25 years for J Walter Thompson and was fired for basically being old. He winds up down on his luck and takes a job at Starbucks. He leaves his comfort zone of the old-money, white, upper east side and learns some important life lessons from the people he works with at the store on 93rd and Broadway, and particularly from his boss Crystal who is half his age and African-American.

Michael Gates Gill has an interesting writing style that definitely grabs your attention and it is obvious that he had a strong career in the advertising industry. At times, the book does feel like an advertisement for the Starbucks cult, but all in all I don’t think it was intended to be that way. There is a positive message in the notion that we should learn something from every opportunity and to be more open minded as a whole.

View all my reviews.

Responses

  1. I just recently read this book as well. I liked it, and I liked the message, but it wasn’t spectacular for me. Nonetheless, interesting and entertaining.


Leave a Reply

Categories

