Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | February 20, 2009

After Dark

After Dark (Vintage International) After Dark by Haruki Murakami

My review

rating: 4 of 5 stars
I forget how much I like Haruki Murakami and then I read one of his books and realize that he is truly a transcendent author. This was a much shorter and lighter story than the others that I have read, but compelling non-the-less.

The book is basically told over a seven hour period in the middle of the night and covers a variety of characters who somehow are connected, but don’t necessarily ever meet up. For me, the most compelling story was of Mari Asai. She is a 19 year old student who we meet sitting at a Denny’s in the middle of the night. When a young trombone player, Takahashi, notices her and sits down at her table without asking her night changes from one of quiet solitude to experiences that will probably change the quiet young girl’s life.

Mari Asai also has an older sister that we omnisciently watch over during the book. She is in a deep sleep and is possibly being watched by some other character through a television. Her presence in the story seems to be less consequential, but there to make the reader consider consciousness versus unconsciousness.

If you haven’t read Murakami before, I wouldn’t suggest this as a first book. The Wind-up Bird Chronicle is definitely a better book and I am about to read Sputnik Sweetheart, but this was an interesting read. I wish it followed Mari more and the other characters less.

View all my reviews.

Leave a Reply

Categories

