Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | February 23, 2009

randomness

I’ve always said that this blog was about random musings, and boy, is this one going to be random. I feel like I haven’t written anything in a while and I miss it, but I don’t have anything truly exciting to write. So this is stream of consciousness and not exactly my best writing.

Work has finally gotten busy because I’ve been taking on a variety of other tasks outside of production on my two magazines. That’s a good thing because we’re in the middle of company-wide layoffs. Since I still haven’t figured out exactly what I want of this job after we move, I need to feel like there is some sort of security. I think I want to keep it. I’m pretty sure in fact, but its all very confusing. 

Back when I was planning my wedding I realized that I was really good at making decisions when they came to work, but when they were personal decisions or decisions that affected people in my life outside of work, I lost that strength and confidence. It’s a highly annoying thing to realize about yourself, but also good to be aware of. I’ve been completely procrastinating when it comes to making important decisions about our life after we move. I probably haven’t done enough to figure out daycare/preschool options for the munchkin, but again, I’ve been up in the air about my job potentially making it a moot point. I haven’t gotten a real estate agent to look at our house yet, even though I KNOW we need to get it on the market SOON.  I really do need to get on that. I just need to do some more serious cleaning and boxing up and that’s really hard to do with the munchkin and without a ton of support. Plus, we’ve all been sick and exhausted by life itself. Ok, excuses excuses, I’ll get on it.

But, on the bright side, Spring is on its way (not a moment too soon) and I have my to-do lists at hand. I really long for the days when we can open up the house and just air it out. And when the munchkin and her daddy can go off to the park and let me clean. We had a much needed vacation in LA and it was great to just relax and not work. I stole a cookbook from my mother and have some interesting recipes that I’ve been playing around with, although my classic standbys are always good.

I also discovered that I love cauliflower if it is prepared well. I always thought that I didn’t like it, even after I did start eating broccoli (which I also avoided as a child). The trick is seasoning. I know, not a new concept, but still, you have to experiment until you get it right. I got it majorly right and my older picky eater even agreed. The little one still didn’t like it : )

Roasted Cauliflower 

Prepare cauliflower by breaking into florets. Place them in a shallow baking dish (I used a pie plate) and lightly cover with olive oil. Put about 2 tbsps of water in the dish and roast at 425 degrees for 25 minutes or until fork tender. Melt a small amount of butter over the cauliflower and sprinkle with salt and paprika.

mmmm….yummy

that’s all for this time. Hopefully next time I can think of something more insightful to write.

Leave a Reply

Categories

