Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | February 25, 2009

z-packs, fried rice and peanut noodles

Forget yesterday, I feel like a completely different person today. The sun literally and figuratively came out and is shining brightly.

Turns out that I had an ear infection and a sinus infection, so no wonder I just wanted to crawl back into bed. I’ve dealt with only getting a few hours of sleep, but when you’re sick it’s that much worse. Today my head is clear and I have a ton of energy. Going to bed at 9pm will do that to you, but still. I also am getting that adrenaline rush at work from having things to do that are not just meaningless busy work. They’ve got me working for various groups which gives me a certain degree of job security in a difficult economic climate. It also makes me realize that I really do love working, I just have been so bored for so long that I didn’t know how to deal with it and understand it all. What that really comes down to is that if they let me keep this job when we move, I think it will be the smart thing to do. The munchkin isn’t suffering from me being a working mommy and if anything, she can see the strength and sense of self-worth that I get from a job well done and understand that side of being a strong woman. There are so many choices us mommys can make, I’d like her to see all of them and understand that there isn’t one right answer.

Of course, none of this stops me from also wanting to be the queen of my kitchen (even if I do hate my current kitchen). Last night I made fried rice – why do we spend good money for this at a restaurant when it is the EASIEST thing in the world to make? Actually, it’s so easy that I’m almost sorry I know how to make it.  I did actually follow a recipe from a cookbook, but of course I changed it a bit…

Vegetarian Fried Rice

3 eggs and 1 egg white
3 cups of cooked white rice
5 scallions chopped
3 cloves of garlic minced
3/4 cup frozen peas and carrots
some frozen edemame
some steamed broccoli
approx 2 tsp of toasted sesame oil
approx 1 tbsb of low sodium soy sauce
vegetable oil (the recipe I used called for 3 tbsp, I didn’t use that much)
salt to taste

Scramble the eggs  in a large wok. Set aside for later. Heat oil in wok  and add the rice. Allow it to cook and brown for a few minutes. Add the scallions and garlic. Cook for another minute. Add the rest of the vegetables and allow them to cook through. Add sesame oil and soy sauce and then season to taste.

I don’t have a good picture, but maybe the next time I make it I’ll get one.

This afternoon for lunch I also had the most amazing spicy peanut noodles that I think are my new comfort food…now I have to figure out how to make them. I went to lunch at lulu’s noddle shop and had their Rainbow Peanut Noodles. I’ve always knkown that lulu’s makes the best peanut sauce in town, but I wasn’t sure how a whole dish with it would work. All I have to say is YUM! The dish is made of red bell peppers, scallions, carrots, bean sprouts, cilantro, cucumbers, peanuts and rice noodles in peanut sauce. One of these days I’d really love to be able to do a tasting of various jarred and bottled sauces to find which ones out there are decent. If anyone knows of a really good Thai peanut sauce that is available in the markets, please let me know.

Responses

  1. Ok, I am so making your veggie fried rice. Thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

