Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | March 22, 2009

cooking again

I know I haven’t written in a long long time, but there has been a lot going on. Nothing I’m going to get into now, but it’s kept me more inside my head then truly able to write things down. At some point I’m going to have to go back to the ideas I’ve been having and wanting to discuss, but we’ll leave that for another day.

For now, the funny thing is that in all of the craziness of trying to get the house ready to go on the market (we’re aiming for Wednesday) I’m still trying to experiment with new recipes. And, I’m cooking more and more meat. You have to understand, that until I gave birth, I hadn’t eaten red meat in over 15 years. My husband is loving the fact that he gets more than chicken and fish and I like playing around with new recipes. Here are two recent keepers, both from the same Williams-Sonoma cookbook.

The first was a steak with a garlic herb sauce that reminded me of the chimichurri sauce we used to get at an Argentinian restaurant in LA. It works great on bread and on french fries – which I unfortunately didn’t have when I made it.  The garlic was a bit heavy, but yummy! The other wonderful thing was that the whole meal was prepared on the grill. I love having a grill.

grilled steak with chimichurri sauce

grilled steak with chimichurri sauce

And this evening I prepared a new herb and breadcrust encrusted rack of lamb. The darling husband thinks that both are definitely keepers, especially the lamb which he would like to see me make every other night – to which I replied, I don’t think so. If anyone wants the recipes, let me know.

herb and breadcrumb encrusted rack of lamb

herb and breadcrumb encrusted rack of lamb

Leave a Reply

Categories

