Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | April 1, 2009

Passover

I’m in no mood to work today, so instead I thought I would discuss my favorite holiday – Passover. 

Passover is the Jewish holiday that celebrates and remembers the exodus from Egypt. It has been my favorite holiday for years. Now all Jewish holidays seem to somehow be about food, but Passover seems to be the one where we are truly expected to come together as a family, sit around the table for a few hours, eat good food, sing good songs and actually discuss the holiday and make sure that the story is passed down from generation to generation. 

When I was in college, I always flew home for Passover. When I moved to NY, that wasn’t quite as feasible. I think I managed to get home for a few. When we moved to Kansas, that just didn’t happen anymore because a) April is when I’m in production of one of my biggest issues of the year and b) taking time off for both of us is difficult. This year, I decided that the munchkin is old enough to understand passover and that I really needed to experience a full family seder. We’re leaving daddy here in KC and I’ll make the charoset, chicken soup and brisket ahead of time.

Passover always poses some cooking challenges – aside from the no bread, pasta or rice, my husband’s family doesn’t do corn (or corn syrup) or legumes. He also isn’t a big fan of egg dishes. So we do a lot of meat and potatoes or something similar. I have a passover cookbook, but it is the NY Times version so while it has some great recipes, they are a often a bit to frou frou for me. Today I’ve randomly found some great recipes online that I think I’m going to have to try out this year.

The first is Roasted Salmon with Lemon-herb matzo crust

lemonherbsalmon

What a fabulous idea! That’s definitely getting made this year.

Then there was an interesting article in the Washington Post about serving fish for passover, and not the nasty gifilte style. Instead, they suggest Salmon with Pink Peppercorn citrus sauce.  

I’ll still be doing brisket, chicken, lots of potatoes and matzo ball soup. But new ideas are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

Categories

