Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | April 22, 2009

eulogy for the boombox

There was an interesting piece on NPR.com today (thank you facebook) eulogizing the boombox.

I don’t know that I “miss” the boombox, but this quote from the story is rather sad.

“Gradually, people stopped listening to music together. The rap world eventually left the corner and moved online. People still pass songs around, but now it’s on file-sharing sites and blogs. Headphones are universally accepted, and eye contact is frowned upon.”

I think sites like pandora have actually encouraged people to listen to and explore new music, but its not the same. Do you remember the mix tape? That was such a huge part of my life in the late 80s and early 90s. I remember giving them to friends as gifts.

I guess the other sad part is the simple fact that we are all so isolated these days. It is perfectly normal to just walk around with your headphones on and not talk to anyone. Or to only communicate via email. At my office, nearly all of us wear headphones at work – I would lose my mind if I didn’t. And I instant message people rather then talk to them. Given my current situation of not trusting people anyway, there is a reason I instant message the person sitting directly across the aisle from me rather than actually talking to her.

Everything changes and evolves, but how is it that we’ve evolved into a world community that doesn’t know how to communicate anymore? We don’t live in close knit circles anymore where everyone is no more than 30 minutes away, ok an hour away in LA. Not that I want to go back to the 80s, but it an interesting thing to think about.

Responses

  1. i do think it is crazy that we have to IM.
    but lately we have learned what happens if we don’t.

    you know how i feel about music. and you know how much we love sharing it.
    and yes, i did get your email about CDs and will get on it!

  2. oooh!
    but as much as some technology has kept us apart, some has brought us together.

    blogs, facebook, web cams……

    people will be deaf from headphones, but at least the whole world will be able to read about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

