Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | April 30, 2009

playing favorites

Favorite as defined by merriam-websters

Main Entry:
     1fa·vor·ite            Listen to the pronunciation of 1favorite
Pronunciation:
     ˈfā-v(ə-)rət, ˈfā-vərt, chiefly dialect ˈfā-və-ˌrīt

Function:noun
Etymology: Italian favorito, past participle of favorire to favor, from favore favor, from Latin favor

1: one that is treated or regarded with special favor or liking ; especially : a person who is specially loved, trusted, or provided with favors by someone of high rank or authority
2: a competitor judged most likely to win



Does it say something about me that I don’t have specific individual favorites? I don’t have a favorite book. I don’t have a favorite song. I don’t have a favorite actor. I never would have thought of this, but I just had to come up with an answer to a security question online and all of them were “pick your favorite…” and I just sat there dumbfounded. 

How can I have one favorite book? Depends on my mood. Could be any of these  – The Book Thief, The Color Purple, The Fountainhead, A Prayer for Owen Meany or Eat Pray Love. But there was a time in my life where I’m certain I would have said The Clan of the Cave Bear.  A few years later it probably would have been Gone with the Wind. Books are my security blanket and comfort.

How can you pick one musician? That’s just completely insane to me? There are way too many to even list. 

Writing this, I realize that when I was younger I did have favorites. As I have gotten older, I look at everything with a different viewpoint. When it comes to books, music, movies, art in general there are just so many options out there. Why limit yourself? Why pigeon hole yourself by saying that one thing is your favorite? I tend to listen to my mood and let it guide me. That way I can pick from a variety of loved items but not say that one is my absolute favorite. In general, I love Impressionism over other art forms but I don’t have a favorite there either.

It’s funny because I think even my child has picked up on this notion. A lot of little kids have a “lovey” or favored stuffed animal that they need to carry everywhere. For a long time, the munchkin had bear. And while she loved him, it was only when the whim caught her fancy. She randomly dropped him one afternoon in a parking lot at the airport as we got off the blue bus and we didn’t notice until putting her to bed. I gave the airport police a good laugh when I drove there at 9pm to get him. A few months later, she left him somewhere in the Miami international airport and I think her daddy and I were more mortified than she was. Since then, we purchased a few stuffed animals to keep around but I don’t think she has a favorite. She generally sleeps with little dog, duck and new duck (I know, we’re really fancy on these names). But day to day, I never know which one she wants to hold for a few moments outside of her bed. And these days she tends to throw everything out of her bed before going to sleep so she doesn’t actually”need” to sleep with any of them. 

So does this make me a more well rounded person or just boring and unable to make a decision? I don’t know. I like that I have a wide variety of likes. What’s your favorite?

Responses

  1. i don’t have favorites either. not even a favorite color and i don’t know that i ever have. i think the only favorite i ever had was bunbun, my stuffed animal bunny that i slept with for way too long. i have a hard time with top five lists even. it just depends on my mood, like you said.

    i think it makes us us. i think that we feel like we don’t have to be defined by this or by that.
    i think favorites can pigeon hole you.
    a friend and her husband ALWAYS go to the same restaurante for their birthdays or any special occasion because it is “their favorite”.

    variety is the spice of life.
    favorites are boring.


Leave a Reply

Categories

