Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | May 14, 2009

why can’t they tell?

A while ago I wrote a post about a petition to fight Ken Starr’s move to “divorce” all of the gay and lesbian couples who had gotten married in California. When I signed that petition, I got on the email list of the Courage Campaign. I’m pretty open about the fact that I am a strong supporter of the gay community, I have been for years. Now the Courage Campaign is asking for us to help end the stupid practice of “don’t ask, don’t tell” in the American Military by asking President Obama not to fire Dan Choi.

As an infantry officer, an Iraq combat veteran and a West Point graduate with a degree in Arabic, I refuse to lie to my commanders. I refuse to lie to my peers. I refuse to lie to my subordinates.

The issue is that Choi went on the Rachel Maddow show in March and outed himself and was promptly fired. Here is the interview

I have always had a major issue with the don’t ask don’t tell policy. Why in the world does this policy still exist?!? Here is a man who has spent his life working for his country, he was trained at West Point and has the extra special skills of having a degree in Arabic and we FIRE HIM?!? I don’t believe in war. I think that this war is wrong, but for god’s sake, if we are going to have military operations in Arabic countries shouldn’t we have men and women who know everything they possibly can about those countries?

And to fire someone over being gay? What kind of rampant homophobia is this? The military has gotten past allowing African Americans and women into their ranks, why not gays? And why are they allowed in as long as they lie to everyone? Seriously? Female soldiers are regularly harrassed – it’s part of their reality. The don’t ask don’t tell policy doesn’t protect the homosexual population in the military, it protects the homophobic part of the military. If no one tells, then they can’t be dishonorably discharged for inappropriate behavior. Get over yourselves and let these amazing men and women continue to do their jobs. I sure as hell don’t want their job, but I’m glad that they are out there defending our country.

Leave a Reply

Categories

