Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | May 22, 2009

something to talk about

I was just looking at the schedule for this weekend’s Jiggle Jam, and found an ad for the Mother’s Matter Walk. It is a walk put on by a group here in KC that supports women and families suffering from Postpartum Depression.

MM-Walk

I wish I had known about this sooner. I wish I hadĀ  known about this organization sooner. If you didn’t aready know this, I suffered from postpartum depression. I feel like people don’t talk about it enough and it was very hard for me to admit that there was a problem. My depression started before the munchkin was even born and made the end of my pregnancy and my maternity leave very difficult. It even makes me scared about the prospect of not working, but I have to remind myself that I am a different person now that the depression is under control. PPD affects the whole family and it isn’t something that we should be ashamed of. PPD also isn’t just about the psychotic episodes that can happen ala Andrea Yates. I was a partially functioning depressed person. But I kept saying it was just baby blues. But it lasted so much longer and was truly so much more.

If you or anyone you know is suffering, here is a list of useful links.

Leave a Reply

Categories

