Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | July 20, 2009

I’m back

I disappeared for a while, I know. Moving has been a ton more difficult than I could have imagined and I don’t have the kind of downtime I did when I was working full time – sick I know! I have complete and total respect for women who stay home full time with their kids, but I have come to realize that I really truly am not one of those women and I’m looking forward to going back to work part time in a few weeks.

On some levels, I think I’m too lazy to be a stay at home mom. It takes so much energy and effort to arange constant playdates and figure out new things to do with your kid to keep them occupied and developmentally stimulated. We did go to our first play group today and tomorrow we have a playdate at the park, but that only seems like the tip of the iceberg. I’m highly impressed with women that have the ability, but I am also really glad that I have the options. I was talking to one mom the other day who was looking forward to having some time to herself – it came up when I mentioned that even though I’m going to work part time I am leaning towards putting the munchkin into full time daycare, picking her up by 3 or 4 every day. This way I can clean the house, find a knitting group, maybe go the gym or work out somewhere else, just have some time for me. Another mom I talked to this morning mentioned that she would be losing her mother’s day out since she also moved here recently and was too late to get into a mdo program for the fall but can’t rationalize any other daycare situation since she isn’t working. I think there is a feeling of being trapped no matter what you do. I wish I could be the mom who could stay at home all the time, but I accept that I am not.

As for life in the new house, we are adjusting. The house has so much more room than the old house that it is really nice, it is just odd trying to figure out where everything should go. We also don’t have quite as much “storage” space and I’m holding onto baby stuff for child number 2. I’m getting creative and making it work.

The good news is that I’m starting to make some friends, I’ve found a pool to join so we can have a regular place to hang out in the heat, we’re doing some nice things as a family, and we’re also starting to meet people in the limited Jewish community here. Baby steps as they say.

Responses

  1. i am glad things are starting to fall into place for you. i am also glad that you have had a taste of the other side…and not only know which situation is best for you, but you also know why.
    i miss you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

