Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | July 29, 2009

Cultivating Optimisim

I was reading Family Circle the other day (oh my god, what has become of me?) and there was a really interesting article about Domestic Bliss. The whole idea of happiness and postivity has been something that we discuss a lot in my household. Sometimes it is really hard to be positive, but I have learned over the years and a lot of heartache that being positive is truly one of the best things you can do. In the past there were definitely times when I could be classified as a pessimist, but I have tried hard to change my views.

So the things that this article highlighted, which I feel are things that I’ve said to people are that first, being positive takes effort and that happy people are healthier, live longer, are more successful and have better relationships. Why? Because they don’t dwell on what could have been or what they don’t know, they are happy about all of the little things that make up their lives. A while back I wrote a post about some jealousy towards people in other careers, but even when I go back and look at it, I notice that I tried to look towards the future instead of the past with an open heart and the hopes that I can make things work for me.

One of the other things that the article mentioned is that “40% of happiness is influenced by attitude and behavior.” It’s always easier to believe the negative comments floating out in the world, but negative thoughts breed a negative life. Positivity breeds positivity. How we choose to live our lives is key and I for one believe that my glass is half full….maybe even closer to 3/4.

Have a great day!

optimism

Leave a Reply

Categories

