Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | August 19, 2009

cooking up a storm

I think I felt guilty after my last post. I haven’t had a lot of “me” time in the last few years and I’m enjoying things that aren’t constructive when I have down time. But today I am rallying back. It’s almost as if I just had to get it off my chest.

Today has been the day to get back in touch with my inner foodie (just in time for the new season of Top Chef!). I did get some good cleaning done as well, but I’m getting my grill on tonight for dinner. Here’s a little preview of what’s on the menu….

The main course is grilled salmon with a corn & tomato salsa. We recently fell in love with a salsa for salmon that is tomato, basil, kalamata olives and capers so I thought this one also sounded like a good thing to try. The recipe was adjusted from one I found on cookstr. The sweet potatoes are a dish of grilled garlic, sweet potatoes and scallions that I found in the current issue of Food TV magazine. They are TO DIE FOR! I made them once before and they are definitely on my list of favorites. I found another blogger who mentioned them if you want to see more pictures. Don’t throw away the garlic when it’s done cooking. They are perfectly roasted cloves that you can eat like candy. And finally, we’ll have some grilled veggies. I put these on skewers and then will just put some zucchini and squash down as well. Ok, I’m hungry now.

Also, in trying to find new ways to deal with creating menus and do weekly meal planning, I’ve stumbled across a great website that I’m going to continue to play with. I haven’t put many links in yet, but what a wonderful idea. Have you heard of delicious.com? How did I fail to pay attention to this sooner? I’ve known it was around, but didn’t think of the great meal planning uses until I saw it on someone’s blog about meal planning. Anyway, my links can be found at delicious.com/mbsings.

Happy eating. I’m off to pick up the munchkin! I think we’re headed for the pool.

Leave a Reply

Categories

