Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | August 20, 2009

doing dinner

I like trying to be organized with my meal planning, although I almost forgot to get the crockpot going in time this afternoon to make it work. Fortunately, I managed to get the beef into the crockpot before being the technical lead on a webinar – it was something about the best run tax departments, I had to keep myself from completely zoning out. Anyway, tonight’s dinner was a success.

broc3

This is CrockPot Broccoli Beef from A Year of Slow Cooking. The dish came together really well, was totally easy, and turned out quite yummy. The munchkin wasn’t into the broccoli, which was surprising since it is one of her favorite vegetables, but she scarfed up the beef and the rice. It was incredibly easy and will stay on my list of options for meals. One thing that I did which wasn’t in the instructions was that I cooked the whole thing in a glass bowl inside the crock pot since it wasn’t a lot of food and we have a fairly decent size crock pot.

broc1

As I said, I found this on a great blog that I like to just call 365 Crockpot, but it’s really called A Year of Slow Cooking. This woman Stephanie challenged herself to use the crockpot every day for an entire year. I admire her idea, but it’s a bit over the top for me. Actually, a lot of the time I find that I can’t easily cook my style in a crock pot. The issue is that so many of the items are full of heavy sauces and we just don’t eat that way. But the crock pot is a life saver especially as we are starting to do classes for the munchkin in the evening.

So that’s my current cooking life. Trying to get everything else in order….working out, meeting people, making sure that there is a routine outside of the house since I’m working in the house. That also might be why I’m blogging so much. It’s a way to communicate with the world (or the 3 people that read this) on my time schedule. And sometimes I just don’t want to actually talk so much. I’m also looking at a ton of other blogs to get various ideas. Who knows where it all will lead to. Definitely putting ideas in my head and that is never a bad thing.

Responses

  1. Hey Michelle!! Have you ever been out to http://alladither.typepad.com/halfassedkitchen/ occasionally there is some really good recipes out there also. I love the fact that you are blogging more than you used to. We all miss you here in KC and it’s been a good way to keep up with what you are up to. Keep in touch!

  2. Dusty, I hadn’t heard of that blog before but from a first glance, it’s pretty cool. I’m drooling over the chocolate chip oatmeal pie. I miss you guys a ton but getting used to life here.

  3. Michelle, did you use frozen broccoli or fresh in this recipe? I’d think that fresh would be better, but it does sound good and easy, too.

  4. I used frozen, but I agree that fresh would probably be better. Someone also suggested not putting the broccoli into the crock but instead using the steam in a bag kind and mixing it together after it all cooks. The key is mixing it up at the end since it needs to get some of the sauce.


Leave a Reply

Categories

