Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | September 15, 2009

routine redux

Figured I’d do a little updating on the routine front…

Nothing is perfect, but I am getting my act together. I’m getting the munchkin up earlier in the morning so that I can still have quality time with her in the morning but we leave the house earlier and I can get to the gym by 8:30. This allows me to get a good workout in and not feel overly insane about work. I’m aiming for 4-5 days a week at either the gym or on my pretty new bike.

We’re back to making more playdates and lunch dates so the socializing is improving. We’ve found two new parks recently that we really like, but this afternoon we’re back to our park to play with our good friends A & G.  I’m also not letting work get in the way. Today I’m waiting for stuff to come through, but I’m about to leave and pick up the munchkin so we can make our playdate.

I still have to make some adjustments to my routine and I’m also needing to fix the morning wake up routine. The munch got used to watching one tv show in the morning while I took a shower. We need to end this. She doesn’t need to be doing that anymore, especially since I’m now going to the gym in the morning. So I need to work on making her forget that and get her to think that sitting on the potty in the morning is fun. Yeah, that should be a good battle.

And while I’m at it – being social. While I was writing this I got an email from foliomag about a new feature on google called fast flip and there was an article in the archives about making friends at 40. Well, the links on that article were all messed up, but I did a few other searches and found this similar article, both by Redbook. Here’s a good quote:

It does take work to find new best girlfriends. And it can feel especially tough when you’re juggling your career and your family and you no longer have the luxury of aimlessly hanging out with people for hours like you did when you were younger. But if you’re willing to reach out, you can find a new partner in crime

With that in mind, I’m off to spend time with one of my new good friends here in NC.

Leave a Reply

Categories

