Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | October 22, 2009

living in the moment

I was listening to the radio the other day and they were discussing a book or something about living in the moment and making the best of where you are right now. When I turned the radio on, after turning Dora off my radio having left the munchkin at daycare, they were discussing using yoga as taking 90 minutes, or however many minutes you chose, to just be completely in the moment. This hit home on a lot of levels.

First, this is for the most part how I try to live my life. I spent a number of years being a total pessimist and now I truly try to enjoy whatever life has to throw at me. It doesn’t always work and there are definitely times where I get frustrated, but in general, I try to enjoy my surroundings and the wonderful people in my life and somehow ignore the bad stuff, or at least, push it away from focus.

However, there are times that I wonder “what if.” This recently came up because when we were flying home from Chicago I finished the book “Commencement.” This book is about 4 women who meet at Smith (it was enjoyable, but I wouldn’t recommend running out and buying it). Anyway, the reason that this challenged my notions of living in the now is that it brought back memories of my semester at Smith and the question that has popped into my head many times about “what if” I had stayed there instead of running away. Now, I’ve always said that life takes unexpected twists and turns and that sometimes things happen for a reason and you don’t always understand that reason while it is happening. I don’t think I ever would have met my husband if I stayed at Smith. There are a lot of people who are in my life now that might not have been if I hadn’t changed my path. Who knows. But it’s hard not to play the what if game. I might have stayed at Smith if I had done a few things differently in my first weeks, but I was young and far away from home and now a small fish in a decent size pond.

So I try not to play the what if game. I try to enjoy whatever little insanities life throws at me. I think this is what most people do, although I can think of one person I know well who needs to learn how. But I like the idea of taking some good time to completely just bask in where you are right at one given moment. Even if it’s only the first five minutes of peace when the house is quiet at night (and if only that moment would come soon).

Leave a Reply

Categories

