Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | November 3, 2009

The genius that was Dr. Seuss

Tonight the munchkin and I were reading “Oh! The Places You’ll Go” by Dr. Seuss and for the first time this book really hit home and I get why it is so beloved. Now don’t get me wrong, I have always been a huge fan of Dr. Seuss – I wrote a term paper on him in high school. However, this book never was one that I liked all that much. It’s a common graduation gift and I never understood why. Now as someone who has faced depression and knows people who have suffered/are suffering from it themselves, I see this book in a completely different light. This is a story of success and failure, of facing challenging times and finding your way out.

Once you get past the somewhat cheesy start, Dr. Seuss talks of how you’ll soon soar beyond everyone else, be the “best of the best” and “top all the rest.”

Except when you don’t.
Because, sometimes, you won’t.
I’m sorry to say so but, sadly, it’s true
that Bang-ups and Hang-ups can happen to you.

“Un-slumping yourself is not easily done.” Wow, ain’t that the truth. You come out where the “streets are not marked” and every path is questionable. You get tangled up and might find yourself in “The Waiting Place.”

The “Waiting Place” is a spot where you lack any and all motivation. You forget who you are and what moves you; what makes you different from Joe Schmoe standing next to you. You are waiting for someone else to make the important decisions for you, to solve your problems for you, rather than standing up and making the decisions yourself.

NO! That’s not for you!
Somehow you’ll escape all that waiting & staying.
You’ll find the bright place where Boom Bands are playing.

Exactly! That hollow hole of depression is not for me. I’ve been there and I’ve gotten myself out. It tears me apart to see other people that I love go through it, but we all have to be our own drum major and forge our own paths.

Life isn’t easy, but we go on. “Though the weather be foul…though your enemies prowl.” Life is a fight and we must stand up to whatever problems we face.

Remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act

If you haven’t already read it, there is a great post on being a parent with depression on the NY Times Motherlode blog.

Responses

  1. Awesome post! I actually don’t think I’ve read this Dr. Seuss (I know–embarassing), though I may have even gotten it myself as a graduation gift. I need to take another look.


Leave a Reply

Categories

