Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | November 8, 2009

Menu plan for week of November 9

It was really great for me to put together my menu plan for last week and I still am working out ways to bring it all together easier. This week, not only am I putting together a meal plan for the coming week, but I’m charting out a list of recipes that I have based on what the main protein is or any side dish ideas. I figure that this will help me put together a weekly menu a tad simpler. To make it easier for me to access it from either of my computers, I set it up as a google doc which you can view here.

What else did I learn this week from menu planning?  That I’m the only one in my family who likes brussels sprouts. That my husband actually likes lasagna and really truly loves lamb – okay, I already knew about the lamb, but its funny how excited he gets. I learned that the when you grill rack of lamb you should put tinfoil over the exposed bones or you get a lot of big fire. I learned that my daughter doesn’t like anything these days except chicken nuggets, corn, roast beef and pasta. Oh, and clementines. She loves those suckers.  But I digress.

For the coming week, here’s my menu:

mpm8-1

Monday – Chicken Cacciatore (Trader Joe’s simmer sauce)
Tuesday – Salmon with lemon-cilantro vinagrette
Wednesday – Tacos
Thursday – Pasta
Friday – out
Saturday – out
Sunday – out

Responses

  1. I love using google docs for all sort of stuff, too!

    I’ve gotten into the unfortunate habit of finding recipes I want to try, and either printing them and sticking them in a file folder, or bookmarking them, or putting them in my google notebook, or who knows what else! They’re EVERYWHERE!

    I’m now in the process of sorting though the printed recipes – the “tried and true” are organized in a 3-ring binder, with my notes and comments. Someday, I may even have a chance to try the rest!

    Oh, and my son went through a similar phase – all he’d eat was hot dogs and peaches, with an occasional pancake or oatmeal for breakfast. Fortunately, that didn’t last long!

  2. I’ve been bookmarking like crazy at delicious but then when I’m putting together my weekly plan I forget about the easy basics that I don’t need a recipe for and things I’ve found in cookbooks and magazines. This way, I can keep them all in one place while continuing to grow my delicious links and cookbook stash. Thanks for reading!

  3. The Internet is a fantastic source for recipes. I also have my cookbooks and cooking magazines.
    Oh, did I mention the library.
    Looks like your family is going to have a delicious week.


Leave a Reply

Categories

