Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | November 10, 2009

shoes

I really am grateful that I am able to work from home. It is a fabulous thing, especially since I would be hard-pressed to find a job where we live and none that could give me the flexibility I have grown to love. But one thing nags at me – clothing! I know, how trite is that? But here’s the thing, when you work from home and have a toddler (or when you don’t work and have a toddler) your wardrobe consists of jeans, t-shirts and sneakers. My problem is that I love shoes with heels, fall boots and skirts. I guess now that it is getting colder I could start to wear skirts with tights, but then the shoes become an issue. Is this a petty post or what? What made me think of this? Well, I was eating lunch today while the munchkin napped and leafing through the newest aerosoles catalog. I long for boots with heels, but they don’t make sense at the park. I was going to finally go shopping today to buy some new fashionable sneakers, but I kept the munchkin home from school to watch over a wet cough she has (she has a history of breathing problems, not awful, but enough to concern me). I’m tired of leaving in the same pair of sneakers that I wear to the gym. Plus, they say that you shouldn’t wear the same pair of shoes every day, it’s bad for your feet. Oh well. Just one of the few things I miss from having a “real” job where I could at least dress up once in a while for the office and change when I got home. Now I’m home all the time and there simply is no point. Another mom friend mentioned a similar urge to just be more “put together.” Just another joy of mommy-hood. Well worth it, bad sad just the same.

Leave a Reply

Categories

