Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | November 18, 2009

my how my tastes have changed

I was thoroughly enjoying my dinner tonight when the thought came to me how different I am now from the person I was ten or fifteen years ago. Some things I see are movements in the right direction, and a few things make me a little sad.

So the reason that dinner sparked these thoughts is because I was loving my meal of brisket and roasted root vegetables. Not only was it brisket, but it was a slight variation of my mom’s recipe (at end of post). Growing up I hated brisket and wouldn’t touch it. When I was 15 I completely stopped eating red meat, not out of moral or health issues, but because even the smell of it cooking made me ill. After I had the munchkin, I stopped eating most shrimp dishes and started craving red meat. Now brisket is a comfort food? Who would have seen that coming?

Another thing that I wouldn’t have seen coming is that I enjoy living away from the big city. I lived in LA, SF and NY before moving to Kansas.  I remember that when my husband and I were talking about the fact that I wanted to leave NY and move with him wherever he did his residency, he had a lot of concerns about me being happy in a smaller city. I wasn’t sure that I would be, but it turns out that smaller cities suit my personality more than a big one. I still love the city, but I don’t want to live there. I definitely don’t want to raise a child in a bigger city. I enjoy the simplicity of a smaller town. For years I think I tried to make myself into something bigger than I was and now I accept and enjoy the fact that I am a homebody. I love making meals at home, although I enjoy the occasional night out. I love having tons of parks and constantly running into people I know.

In the same vein, 10-15 years ago the thought of going hiking was the furthest thing from my mind.  Now that is something I truly enjoy doing. However, carrying my 31 pound child on my back while hiking, I think that I could do without.

On the flip side, 10-15 years ago I was still singing on a regular basis. I listened to new music on a regular basis and loved getting on stage and belting it out. Music was a huge part of who I was. Car rides meant belting to Indigo Girls, Rent, Paula Cole, anything I could get my hands on. Now when I’m in the car, I listen to Dora.  I realized the other day that I really don’t listen to new music much anymore. Back in Kansas I did create a great pandora station that opened up my eyes to some new music, but it wasn’t music to sing to. I miss singing. There was a part of my life when I considered a career in music. Now while I might have been delusional, it was something that was a big part of who I was.

Even a few years ago I got really into knitting. I then also started to crochet. Having a child really puts a crimp in your ability to get knitting time in. I should knit while watching tv, but for the most part, that doesn’t happen. Partially due to this horrid thing called the internet that I find myself getting sucked into. I miss getting to go to weekly knitting groups and just sit with friends and let the meditative forces work their magic.

Life gets away from us sometimes. It’s important to remember who we are and what makes us individuals.

Anyway, here’s my mom’s recipe sort of changed for my family’s way of eating.

Mom’s Brisket

4 – 5 lb. brisket
1 envelope Lipton’s Onion Soup Mix
1 envelope Onion Gravy Mix

(Best done the day before and reheated)

Place brisket on a large piece of heavy duty foil, lean side up.  Sprinkle with half the soup mixture and rub it all over.  Carefully turn the meat so the fat side is up and repeat.  Cover brisket tightly with foil so that the fat side remains on top.  Put in an uncovered pan and cook at 350 degrees for 3 hours.  When the meat is almost done, make the gravy mix according to the package directions.  Remove the meat and slice it across the grain.  Place the cut slices into a casserole.  Pour the natural gravy from the meat into the pan of gravy, and then pour this mixture over the meat.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.  Then just reheat.

I actually didn’t do the gravy mix this time as I feel like there is enough natural au jus on it’s own. I added 1/4 water at the very end to the au jus to give it a bit more liquid.

Leave a Reply

Categories

