Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | December 3, 2009

comforts

There are certain things that we cling to when we are looking for comfort. Yesterday it was a rainy chilly day, so soup was the comfort. Today, I don’t know what was up with me, but by dinner time, again I went with simple comfort, aka pasta. Tonight I plan to curl up with a good book. A quick post and then no more electronics and an early bedtime.

Books are the ultimate comfort for me. Last night my book club here met to discuss a book that I had read when it first came out, The Book Thief. I loved this book when it came out and it was just as powerful with the second reading. I haven’t written my review yet, but I’ll leave that for tomorrow.

I’m not sure what it is, but I get an odd sense of comfort from reading a good book twice. I also like watching movies more than once. My husband and I disagree on this idea, but he doesn’t read much fiction and he likes dramas and documentaries which don’t often lend to multiple viewings. When a book has characters like this one, even when the subject matter is difficult (WWII Germany), you just want to surround yourself with the familiar, good hearted warmth.

When I was in college, and even after, I remember watching certain movies over and over. One of my favorites was the totally cheesy but wonderful The Cutting Edge. I also could watch almost any Gene Kelly and/or Judy Garland film over and over. I even still love my childhood favorite of Xanadu.

I’m going to go escape into a good book, but here’s a little bit of happiness from me to you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

