Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | December 17, 2009

random thoughts

Every once in a while, I need to have one of these completely random posts, so here goes…

I started this blog because I wanted a place to just write and hopefully keep people in my life up to date on what’s going on with me. However, this is an open forum and anyone can read it so I also have to respect the people in my life and not discuss certain things. We all go through rough spots, and I’ve definitely had my share. I don’t write about those and sometimes it also means that I don’t call people on the phone because I don’t want to talk about it.

I am incredibly grateful to the people in my life – my family and my friends. During the holidays I think you truly realize that there are wonderful people all around you and because I’m so far away from most of those people, the holidays are also really hard. I am incredibly fortunate that my parents were able to fly out here and spend a few days with us. I am glad that my father-in-law lives only an hour away, although I wish he would come and visit us more often instead of us always visiting him. I am blessed to feel that I can get on an airplane from time to time and visit friends, although it’s much pricier than it used to be since the munchkin gets her own seat. I do love where we live, and I am making some great friends here, but the holidays remind you that there are people who have known you for years, who accept you for all your faults, who have remained your friend for a deep meaning, not just because you live in the same place or because your kids are friends. For all my friends that are reading this, I love you.

Sometimes being a mom means forgetting who you are as an individual. I truly am trying not to do that. I’ve been getting back in touch with music of my own and it definitely helps – even if I did just create a new pandora station only for them to play disney songs on it.

Someday I hope to live closer to the people I love. For right now, I have the two amazing people in my house who give me joy on a regular basis. May everyone reading this, friends and strangers, have a very happy holiday season. Remember that it isn’t about gifts, it is about love and joy and the people in your life.

This song is currently playing on Pandora and it’s pretty accurate. Love to all!

Leave a Reply

Categories

