Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | December 23, 2009

annoyed by books

I love to read. I think I’ve been over this like five million times and often use my blog as a forum for book reviews. So it really annoys me when I read books that are only mediocre and the last two books that I’ve read are just that.

The first book is Run by Ann Patchett. I picked this one up back in Kansas at the library’s annual book sale. I didn’t know much about it but I have devoured all of Patchett’s other books, my favorite being The Magician’s Assistant. Her characters have always been fascinating and her stories rich. Run explores the concepts of race, religion, class and, most importantly, family through the eyes of a pair of families over a twenty-four hour period. Unfortunately, I felt that the book was contrived, told in strange flashbacks and jumped around way too much.  In the end, I didn’t really feel for any of the characters in this story.

The second book, which I just finished this evening, is The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society. This was the book that my book club picked for January and has been read far and wide by many a book club. Why? Who deems books so book club worthy? I didn’t hate this book, but man was it a waste of my time. It is told in letter format, which I actually find interesting, but lacked plot most of the time and then when it finally picked up some plot it was highly predictable. I’ll be curious to see what everyone else says, but this is one I could have done without. At least it was a quick read.

There are tons of amazing books out there. My current “to read” list has 77 items on it. Where in the world am I going to find the time to read while doing all of the other things I’m supposed to be doing? I get some reading in at the gym as long as I make sure to keep the bike on “random hill” at something like level 10 so I can still get a decent workout.

So the funny part is that one of my friends recently called me a “reading machine.” Well, it’s not hard to get through a ton of books if they are light and relatively short. Some of the things I pick are harder to get through – I have three actually that I’ve “started” recently but put down to read something lighter. Actually, they were all non-fiction and I’ve also been on a fiction kick lately, which makes getting through them another issue.  I had a challenge for myself to read 50 books this year and I’m not going to make it. I’m currently at 44 books and there are very few days left. It’s a fun little challenge. Here’s what I’ve managed to read so far this year…

8th ConfessionThe Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar WaoDeception PointComfort FoodHow Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone ElseAfter DarkSuite FrançaiseThe Memory of RunningSputnik SweetheartIf I Am Missing or Dead: A Sister's Story of Love, Murder, and Liberation
The ReaderSearching for SchindlerDewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the WorldKnit TwoA Case of NeedThe Almost MoonCross (Alex Cross, Book 12)Starbucked: A Double Tall Tale of Caffeine, Commerce, and CultureThe Saturday WifeProject Jennifer
The InterpreterThe Mermaid Chair: A NovelTwilightThe Girl with the Dragon TattooWater for ElephantsNew MoonEclipseSarah's KeyBreaking DawnWhat Happened to Anna K?
The HostThe Devil in the White City:  Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed AmericaScarpettaThe School of Essential IngredientsCommencement: A NovelThe Girl Who Played with FireHer Fearful SymmetryJuliet, Naked: A NovelThe Lost SymbolAngel Time
The Book ThiefThe HelpRunThe Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Categories

