Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 5, 2010

Healthy Eating

Tonight I tried a new recipe from the super fast section of Cooking Light (October 2009). I liked it, but it was a fail according to my husband and daughter.

The dish was steamed chicken and vegetables with soy dipping sauce. I was leery about the dish because steamed chicken sounded somewhat disgusting, but I was pleasantly surprised at how well it came out – very tender and, once the sauce was on it, completely full of flavor.  Plus, it was full of vegetables (I added green beans to the recipe) and very bright in flavors and no fat was used in the cooking process at all. Unfortunately, my husband is not a fan of soy sauce, which I knew but chanced it anyway, and he wasn’t a impressed. Maybe I can try some other type of sauce in the vinaigrette variety. I think the munchkin will be more likely to eat it that way as well. At least she did eat all of her vegetables once I gave her some italian dressing to dip them in.

Cooking Light is one of my favorite magazines and the current issue is focusing on the ever popular topic of eating healthy in the new year. I think the important thing, which CL follows, is that it is never a diet, it is a way of life. Healthy eating isn’t something you can do in a fad way. You can detox for a few weeks to shock your body into your new eating habits, but they have to be permanent habits. Anyway, even the editor’s letter was really interesting. He wrote that many Americans want to eat naturally, but with all of the “food processing, diet hawking, and nutrition hyping around,” that’s no easy task. Trying to figure out a healthy diet is a complicated mess, especially when things that look like they should be good for you have hidden bad things. Also, these days there are so many wanna-be nutrients that are added to our foods, they don’t do us any good. Okay, back to my point…I found the editor’s letter so interesting that I actually wrote to him per his request to “share how you deal with all the food and nutrition hype.” He wrote back this morning and said it was a great note. I think that’s pretty cool.

This month they wrote their “10 Rules for Healthy Eating in 2010.” The online version isn’t as good as the print one, but gives you a nice run down of these great tips. I also found a great article by Jennifer Colgan about “10 Ways to Lose Weight without Dieting.” A lot of tips I already knew, but sometimes it’s just good to read them again.

So far, I’m doing a pretty good job on my healthier habits. I haven’t been snacking nearly at all and when I do, it’s been plain almonds, apricots or apples. My trainer kicked my butt at the gym today and I thanked her for it, heck, I asked her for it. I could still do better at hydrating, but I think I’m drinking more than I was. I feel good. I like feeling good.

I also got a present in the mail today. I ordered a few books from Amazon.com at the end of December and they arrived today. $31 for three books – can’t beat that. The nice thing is that even my husband is getting to read one of them – he decided to read “The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun.” I think it sounds fabulous and he’s a tough nut when it comes to reading books. Maybe we’re all trying to find a way to smile more in 2010.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Categories

