Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 11, 2010

mmm…salmon

Winter time is a hard time to get a slew of fresh veggies and bright flavors. I could eat sweet potatoes every day, but I seem to be the only one in my family that feels that way. Actually, I could make meals out of roasted vegetables and very little else, but I’m alone in that love. So instead, I tried to find bright flavors wherever possible. A few months back I found a recipe for Salmon with lemon-cilantro vinaigrette that has become a favorite. The other night, I made a gloriously healthy yet highly tasty dinner out of that, some steamed vegetables and confetti barley.  Even the mucnhkin has gotten in on the action as sugar snap peas are one of her new favorite foods. Granted, she dips them in Italian dressing, but all things considered, not to shabby for a nearly 3 year old.

The healthy routine has been working pretty well. I’m feeling great, but we’re only a week in and this is a lasting change. The hardest thing has been going to bed early, but I’m working on it. I’m nourishing my body and my soul and it feels pretty great. This week has the chance of being a little crazy as we have an appointment in Durham on Tuesday which will throw off our routine, but hopefully it won’t screw us up too much. Hope you’re having a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

Categories

