Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 20, 2010

eat less meat

At some point in my blog trolling, I found a great site called This Week for Dinner. Jane Maynard posts her weekly menu plan but she also posts some great recipes, food tips and generally entertaining posts. I’m even tempted to Edible Peanut Better Playdough at the munchkin’s birthday party.

Recently, she posted about eating well and healing the planet after reading Mark Bittman’s book Food Matters which I picked up when we were in Chicago in October. I finally started reading the book today and, since I have been doing a lot of thinking about the way we eat for some time, I have decided to go in on Ms. Maynard’s Eat Less Meat Challenge.

She explains that the challenge is to

eat LESS to help Mother Earth. LESS meat. LESS processed foods. Of course, we’ll be eating more VEGGIES. More FRUITS. More WHOLE GRAINS. If we eat well, we can heal the planet.

It’s about becoming more conscious about what you put in your mouth. Each and every one of us can make a difference, both in our own individual lives and for the planet.

Well, I’m up for the challenge. Years ago I didn’t eat any red meat. A number of my meals were vegetarian and I liked  it that way.  Since the munchkin was born, however, I’ve had cravings for red meat. I’d like to find a way to bring back more vegetarian fair. This is a big challenge for me since my husband is not so big on meatless meals unless it is pasta. However, before we moved in together, I cooked tofu on a regular basis. Well, I’d like to test his boundaries and mine. We don’t eat a ton of processed foods in my  house, but there are always new things to try. I’ve also been trying to buy happier meat when I do purchase it and am looking forward to the food co-op starting around here.

For a vegetarian entree to get your mouth watering, or at least mine, check out this post from Chowmama for Butternut Squash & Avocado Quesadillas.

Happy Eating!

Responses

  1. mmmm…that looks good!

    the ideas of the challange here are the same as with the mayo clinic diet.
    i am still far from perfect, but all ready i can feel the difference.
    it is hard to change minds about people and their meat 🙂
    keep on keepin on sista.

    i can’t wait to see pics from the birthday party! i say don’t make edible playdough. all the other moms will be mad at you because their kids will want to eat all playdough!

    hope you are well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

