Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 28, 2010

food glorious food

I was chatting with a friend this morning via instant messenger and we were both throwing recipe links back and forth. I realized that I could talk about food non-stop to anyone. I did continue talking about it later at the park with some friends. I love food. I love recipes. I love finding new things to try and experimenting in the kitchen, if only I had more time and a bigger kitchen.

Years ago I thought about writing a book about the history of kitchens in America. Obviously that never happened. But when I come back to it, it does remind me that writing about food is an important thing to me. It seems to be a big thing that I keep coming back to in this blog. I don’t believe that I could ever write a food blog because most of those revolve around people who actually come up with recipes. Not my forte. So you, my handful of readers, gets to suffer through my food talk.

This was a week of some experimentation. I have been majorly craving Indian food. Unfortunately, where I live there aren’t any Indian restaurants. There is one place that has a few Indian dishes, but it’s pricey and there are only one or two dishes (depending on weekly specials). So I’ve turned to trying to make my own. I started with a recipe for Vegetable and Chickpea Curry. Good in theory, but completely lacking flavor. A friend of mine suggested that I avoid any dish that has curry powder in the ingredient list and she might be right. But is smells so good! I also made what my husband likes to call crack lasagna. I basically took a recipe for vegetable lasagna and changed it up a bit, now that I’ve made it a few times. I always make a nice chunky tomato sauce, use carrots, zucchini, spinach and mushrooms and this time I cut the ricotta cheese back from 3 cups to 2 cups. I actually think it was better this way. Since that leaves leftovers, we had 3 nights of meatless meals! This evening I made Almond-Crusted Salmon. It turned out incredibly well. All in all, go me this week!

These days, I’m really trying to find new and healthy foods. I follow a variety of interesting food blogs and they give me tons of inspiration.  I test things on myself and then possibly let other people experience them. This weekend I have a girls night out over at a friends house and I’m bringing some kind of appetizer. One of the women is vegan so I was actually thinking of either bringing baked tofu and/or roasted chickpeas. In another life-time I will have the time to document these things, but for now, I’ll just have to talk.

happy eating!

Leave a Reply

Categories

