Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | May 1, 2010

strawberries and more

We continue to come up with more ways to use these amazing strawberries the munchkin and I picked. The ice cream is great, although next time I will puree the strawberries instead of chopping them – they wind up too icy if not incredible small. Tonight we had a creation of my own (thanks to the brilliance of my husband) based loosely on our favorite Thanksgiving salad.

This is my Salad with Strawberries, Oranges and Goat Cheese based on this salad from Epicurious. The recipe is as follows:

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons thawed frozen orange juice concentrate
  • 3/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • strawberries – sliced
  • oranges – sectioned (for a how to, see this old post)
  • hand full of dried cranberries
  • mixed greens
  • crumbled goat cheese
  • chopped pecans
  • thinly sliced red onion

Preparation:

Whisk first 5 ingredients in bowl to blend. This can be made 1 day ahead. Chill. Bring to room temperature and rewhisk before using. (I suggest using a dressing cruet of some sort, ours is good seasons)

Add remaining ingredients and toss to combine (I suggest starting with the greens and adding other items to the top). Toss salad with enough dressing to coat and serve.

Note: When I make this, I only make enough salad for what we are eating at that moment. I’ll often section a number of oranges and store them in a container in the fridge to make the whole process even easier. I also let people put their own dressing on unless I am bringing it to an event, in which case, I’ll dress it right before it is being served.

Husband rating – big thumbs up.

Tonight, I also made a really excellent steak. I’m still relatively new to cooking steak (only started eating it after the munchkin was born). I got this recipe from one of my friend’s blogs, but I’ll put the recipe below just to make it easier.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (or regular lemon juice from the grocery store)
1 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 cloves garlic, minced (or a tablespoon of pre-minced garlic)
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 1/2 lbs Flank Steak

Directions:

1. Mix first 8 ingredients together in a large Ziploc bag. Place Flank Steak into the bag and mix it around to make sure it is fully covered. Refrigerate for 6 hours.
2. Remove meat from fridge about 15 minutes before you turn on grill to bring to room temperature
3. Preheat grill to medium-high. Grill steak for 5 minutes per side, or to desired doneness.
4. Remove and let steak rest on a cutting board for about 5 minutes. Cut steak against the grain of the meat to maximize tenderness.

Husband rating: Again, a big thumbs up.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

Categories

