Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | June 26, 2010

cooking with my kid

Last night was the final nail in the coffin of me allowing the munchkin to nap at daycare which means that I’m going to be picking her up at noon from now on. She’s only going to be at this daycare for one more month and then we were switching to somewhere else anyway and I’ve been toying with the idea of only having her there through noon as well. That said, I want to get myself more organized to make sure that our afternoons are fun for both of us and a little education wouldn’t hurt either.

For a few months now, I’ve been following an amazing blog called “Cooking with my Kid.” The author set out on a mission to teach her child to cook by doing a different recipe every day. I think her son is around the munchkin’s age and they do some great stuff. Well, I think it’s time to get my little one excited about the kitchen. I’m not going to undertake having her help every day, but there are a lot of little things that she can be doing with me. It would be a heck of a lot easier if I had a bigger/more user friendly kitchen, but we’ll make do. There is some hope that by helping prepare some of the food, she’ll be a little more willing to taste some of the food.

I’ve got this week’s menu all planned out and there are a variety of things she can help with. Plus, I have this huge amount of peaches that we got in our CSA basket and I’m going to attempt to make fruit leather out of some of them, which hopefully she’ll enjoy doing. I’m the only one in the house that actually eats peaches, but perhaps she’ll eat them this way. I’ll try using agave nectar instead of sugar as well to make it a little healthier, but in general, that’s a pretty healthy snack.

Hopefully this will be a good experiment – both the cooking and the half day in school. I’ll keep you posted on the results.

Responses

  1. Hope you both enjoy your afternoons together!! Can’t wait to see what you whip up in the kitchen! Megan always wants to help and I’m not always good about finding “useful” things for her to do. Have Fun!

  2. Thanks Mandy! She had a blast cutting up the peaches and even was willing to eat some. She was less interested by late afternoon when we tried to roll out pizza dough. Baby steps 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

