Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | July 1, 2010

cooking and swimming and more, oh my!

This has been a very busy week. We’re still getting used to the new schedule, but I think that it’s working. The munchkin loves being picked up at noon and I like that, in general, she’s going to bed earlier. We’re finding various ways to keep busy and it’s good quality time that I think is important, especially with the new baby coming.

Our experimenting in the kitchen has been a success so far. She doesn’t always want to participate, but we had a great time making peach fruit leather and we’ve got plans for more this weekend. I let her chop the peaches since they didn’t need to be perfect and then she was able to pour in the water and the agave nectar. She hates the noise the immersion blender makes, so that was my job with her hiding in the other room. At first, I thought I was the only one that had liked the home made fruit rolls, but she thinks they are great and has requested that the batch we do tomorrow be purple.

We also had a good time grilling pizza. She wanted to help roll the dough, but I think she was too tired and lasted only a few minutes.

And in case you’ve ever considered grilling pizza – it totally works…

In addition to cooking (and eating), we’ve been doing puzzles, playing games, reading books and of course swimming.

My little swimmer is now moving up to level 2. Tomorrow we’re off to the local marina/beach for a mom’s event and I think it’s going to be a very busy 4th of July weekend. Happy holidays everyone!

Leave a Reply

Categories

