Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | August 2, 2010

music

I was sitting in the munchkin’s room last night trying to get her to finally drift off into sleep (it was after 10pm) and I was enjoying myself listening to the mix that I had made for her a long time ago. Back when we were struggling to get her to sleep through the night I tried everything, including music playing all night long. Anyway, we took the CD out somewhat recently when she was having some struggling falling asleep again. It’s our “lullabies with music” mix, but what I love about it is that it is all music that I might have (or did) listen to before she was born. Some of the songs were from other lullaby compilations, but a lot of them were just good songs that I had in my collection that I thought were soothing enough to include on the CD.

I’ve thought a lot about music lately, but just haven’t taken the time to write anything down. I guess last night was finally the impetus (as I actually started writing this by hand last night). Music used to be a huge part of my life. Aside from the singing I did in college and in NY, just listening and exploring new music was important to me. Then I had a child and other than listening to my ipod or pandora at work, I rarely got to listen to “my” music. The munchkin had obvious musical tastes early on, and right or wrong, she has somewhat controlled our listening choices. Obviously, I have some impact since I choose what she can choose from, but it’s still kid stuff and it is VERY repetitive. It can be annoying, but on the flip side, it is also incredibly satisfying to hear my three year old sing “Tree of Life” and “Hineh Rakevet” considering the lack of Jewish resources where we live.

I know a lot of people who have their children listening to the same music that they like, but I don’t generally listen to “pop” music so I think that might be a part of the challenge. I try to sneak some of my music into the mixes I’ve put together that we listen to in the car and sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t. She loves “Bust a Move” (the Glee version), but the fact that there is a Dora version of Celebration makes it hard to go back to the original. I look into music considered “indie kid” but it’s hard to try and figure out what she might actually be willing to listen to.  I think I have to start branching out again (I’m open to suggestions people).

At some point I’ll get back to listening to my own music more often and hopefully to actually singing again. I miss performing. I miss discovering new music. For now, I’m off to amazon and itunes to see what I can discover that encourages the munchkin to expand her musical horizons.

Leave a Reply

Categories

