Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | September 10, 2010

pregnancy update

I’m 37 weeks pregnant at this point and know that I haven’t said much about it, but seriously, I don’t say much a lot of the time even though I want to. The only time I seem to get posts in these days is when I randomly spend quality time at Panera. Today, my car is in the shop across the street for an oil change and hopefully an inspection, so I have some time to kill.

This has been an incredibly bizarre pregnancy. I spent the first 4-5 months incredibly sick. I was taking zofran for quite some time just to try and keep food in my system. I gained back a few pounds and then we went to Israel and I lost some again due to all of the walking. Oddly enough, I continued to not gain weight and people kept not being able to tell I was pregnant. Let me tell you, I realize that people are trying to be nice when they say that you don’t look pregnant, but when you are 6 months along and not fitting into any of your clothes and people make that comment, you just look down at yourself and wonder, what? I’m just fat? By the time we hit my appointment at 30 weeks and I was still gaining at a much slower rate than expected I actually went in for another ultrasound just to be safe. No problems, the baby is doing great, growing completely normal, all fluid levels look good, somehow my metabolism finally kicked in after 35 years. The annoying thing is that the only information in the internet world that shows that it is possible to have a healthy pregnancy and not gain a ton of weight is geared at obese women. I keep forgetting that according to the official BMI charts, which don’t take bone and muscle density into consideration, I am nearly obese, which I totally disagree with – but that’s another rant completely.

So here I am at 37 weeks and I’m still a few pounds under my pre-pregnancy weight. People think I’m maybe 5-6 months pregnant instead of nearing the end. I am tall and so there is more room for the baby to stretch out, but it has been different. This little one is incredibly active. I think I might actually have internal bruises from being kicked in the same spot so many times. My husband finds it comical to watch my belly just constantly move – it kept us entertained during a somewhat boring Rosh Hashana sermon the other night. I haven’t been nearly as physically or mentally uncomfortable as I was during my first pregnancy. At this point with the munchkin, I could barely walk and was in near constant pain.

Speaking of the munchkin, she’s really very cute right now about having a baby sister. She’s never been one who was too into baby dolls but all of a sudden she’s taken a liking to one and her latest thing is putting the baby to sleep in her crib and telling us to be quiet so that we don’t wake the baby. She has all sorts of plans to help with the baby, feed her, give her toys, etc. I’m enjoying it now, since all of this might quickly change when we bring the baby home and she has to share mommy and daddy’s attention. At least we have her scheduled in a ton of activities that are “hers” which will keep her knowing that there is something special for her. I’m still trying to figure out how I want to deal with hiring help. I know that I need to get someone on a regular basis, I just still can’t quite put my head around when I want this person around, what I want them to do, etc. If only grandma lived closer!

I’m trying to remain zen about the whole due date thing. As I said, I’m technically 3 weeks away at this point, but the munchkin was induced at 41 weeks. I would love to go a touch early, but I don’t see it being more than a few days – which is just fine by my parents as they are scheduled to fly in 2 days before I’m due. It is funny though that I have such a zen mentality about it. I think that because I was late the first time, I don’t have any expectations about going early. Going early the first time makes you want to go early the subsequent times, which is totally understandable. I just don’t want to be induced if I can avoid it.

The blanket is almost done. I am determined to have it done before the baby gets here, so I better get a move on. I have like 4 more rows of color and then I just need to tie in the loose ends and put on a border. When I finally get that finished, I will post a picture.

So that’s the pregnancy update. Happy thoughts that sooner rather than later we’ll see our bundle of joy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

