Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 13, 2011

being a full time mom

A few weeks ago a close friend asked how life was post paid employment and I realized that I never addressed that here, so here goes….

I am not the stay at home kind of mom. I’ve always taken a lot of pride from the jobs I’ve held and I enjoy working. That being said, not working anymore was the best decision that I’ve made for myself in a very long time. It is better for me and better for my kids.

There were 2 major drawbacks to my job…

  • Number 1, was that it was a part-time position, but they were used to having it filled by someone who was full-time and could better accommodate last minute rush requests. The nature of the beast was that things always ran late and when I tried to work a true part-time 9-1 schedule, it failed. I knew that when fall hit there would be a ton of after-school activities that I wanted J to be allowed to go to so having my afternoons free was pretty important to me.
  • Number 2 was that socially it was a mistake for me to be working from my home. None of the women in my social circle work 5 days a week and very few people want to get together on the weekends – weekends are sacred for family time. The thing is, I’ve come to realize that even though I have initial discomfort in social situations, I am an extroverted person (an introverted extrovert) and being around other people makes me a happier person. J is an extrovert in a major way, I can only wonder where she gets it. I missed the day to day social interaction of working in an office environment. Working from home and then taking care of J in the evening just wasn’t cutting it for me, especially with my husband’s irregular working hours.

So now that I don’t work (per se, because being a full-time mom is one of the hardest jobs out there), I have a stronger set of friends, J’s social circle is stronger, and while we are slightly over-scheduled, she’s thriving. Also, I thought about how I would make it work with a newborn and realized that it wouldn’t unless I hired help.

What’s wonderful is that this time around I’m not suffering from PPD. I still have my moments of blues and frustration, but I’m not in the same haze that I was before. Getting to fully experience E at this age is amazing as I wasn’t able to with J.

Someday I would like to find a way to work again, but for now this is the way to go.

Responses

  1. thanks for this blog! i have many times wondered how you were doing, as we had many conversation about it. and since we never seem to make a phone date happen,it makes me happy to read this and know that it was a good move for you. i look up to you and the way that you conduct your life. always have, always will.
    above all i love to hear that you aren’t having to deal with PPD this time around.
    i love you lady!


Leave a Reply

Categories

