Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 18, 2011

shh….the baby is sleeping

I can’t believe I’m posting this on a night where J is up reading an hour and a half after we actually put her down, but I’ve folded the laundry and actually have a few moments to type something up. I guess in some ways it makes what I’m writing all the more true.

So here’s the thing, one of the biggest struggles with babies is their sleep patterns. It amazes me how many books are available on the subject of how to get your kid to sleep through the night. People swear by them. Here is what I think…

When your baby is ready to sleep through the night, he/she will.

Radical, I know. Now I’m not saying that you shouldn’t encourage things like letting your child put themselves to sleep sans breast or bottle, but I’m into following their clues with some helpful encouragement.

J didn’t sleep through the night until she was 15 months old. I couldn’t figure out what we were doing wrong, but there I was, already beating myself up during the throws of PPD and my baby wouldn’t sleep. All of the books expected that you read them prior to the birth of your baby, not once you actually are having a problem; I don’t read computer manuals and I didn’t read baby books before my baby was born. Looking back, I now understand that some of our sleep issues stemmed from the fact that J wasn’t getting enough food in the first few weeks. All of the other reasons that kept her from sleeping through the night? I simply can’t tell you.

E started sleeping through the night at 2 months. First it was the miracle of a 5 hour stretch, then 6 and wham! She is also able to put herself to sleep. She doesn’t always like it, but usually her bedtime isn’t overly painful.

J’s routine has continued to be more difficult. Actually, my facebook status this evening was “love my baby for putting herself to sleep. now if only her older sister would get the memo.”

Am I doing something different? Everything is different with baby #2, including my stress levels, but I’m not “doing” anything. I’m letting E do her thing and miraculously it’s working.

Feel the zen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

