Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | February 23, 2011

Interesting mom Happier family

I’m reading this book my mom got me, The Mother Trip: Hip Mama’s Guide to Staying Sane in the Chaos of Motherhood, and I got to a page the other night that really rang true:

“Children need interesting mothers and mothers need interesting lives…we need time to ourselves, moments of awareness, connection, meaningful work…we need good coffee, hearty meals, lush gardens and time to relax and enjoy our lives without worrying so much about whether we are good enough mothers or skinny enough girlfriends or wives. We need to take care of ourselves so that we can mother our children soulfully and lead lives worth living.”

She got that spot on. There are a lot of times that I feel like I get into a rut, I miss just going out and doing things for myself and not for my family. Heck, I miss finding time to sit and blog without feeling guilty. This is why I do book club and why moving to an actual neighborhood is so important to me. It’s why I encourage the munchkin to be friends with kids who have parents that I enjoy spending time with.

Being happy as an individual is a fundamental key to being happy as a collective unit. I used to get a lot of personal satisfaction from working, but that was back when we were in KC and I had a job that was truly fulfilling. It’s much harder for me to do things that are specifically for me in a smaller town, knowing that I need to get a babysitter most times in order to do that. But I do keep looking for opportunities. I find a lot of pleasure in books and talking about them. I’ve found that I really enjoy listening to NPR and am trying to make sure that I get in music of my own liking, not just the munchkin’s. I’m trying to find a way to knit or crochet again. I take great pleasure in spending hours in the park with friends. I’m trying to utilize the morning hour when J is at school to also just be social instead of feeling like I have chore after chore to accomplish.

I spent a lot of J’s early months in a depressed haze. I know that its better for everyone if I like myself and find myself interesting enough for the girls to look up to so that is what I intend to do. Now back to my chores.

Leave a Reply

Categories

