Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | December 28, 2011

planning a party

I’ve started to think seriously about J’s 5th birthday party. I only have 6 weeks to figure it all out, including where to have it, and get completely organized.

Two years ago I planned a small princess themed party in our house. I had crafts and games planned, but then the party almost got cancelled altogether because my morning sickness was so bad I could barely get out of bed. It moved forward, but turned into a glorified play date with some cake and princess crowns if you felt like making them.

Last year, I knew that we were going to have to invite over 20 kids and our house couldn’t handle it. Being that J’s birthday is in February, we simply don’t have a ton of options here in terms of where to hold a party, so I went the easy route and held it at the local gymnastics place and other than an amazing cake my friend made, there was no theme to speak of. Easy peasy, no thought required.

So this year, I have no idea where to hold the party. I don’t want to do gymnastics again and J stopped going to her classes in the fall, so I’m over that. We could go bowling, but I’m sort of ho-hum over the whole idea. Then there is the fact that she is OBSESSED with the Wizard of Oz at the moment. I would love to throw a themed party, but we are probably going to still have nearly 20 kids and that doesn’t sound like a fun day in the house.

Anyway, where am I going with this? I started to look at some websites to see what ideas people had for a Wizard of Oz party. There are some amazing things out there. But more than anything else, there are some moms out there who really just love to party plan and decorate and bake and seem to have a whole lot more free time than I do. Actually, I have a local friend (ahem, she who made last year’s cake) who excels at this sort of thing. Me? Nope. I’m looking at these websites thinking that over-achieving moms just make the rest of us look bad. And then on the flip side, do the kids really care? A lot of this stuff is to show off your mad skills and because you enjoy doing it. Now, I’m not saying it isn’t a wonderful thing to do if you have the energy and ability, but where did nice simple birthday parties go? And how in the world do I manage to throw a cool themed birthday party for approximately 20 kids in February? There are so many great games we can play, I just have to figure out some major logistics and pray for good weather.

Leave a Reply

Categories

