Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | August 19, 2012

hello again and book review – Daughter of Smoke and Bone

It has been way too long since I blogged. Life sort of got in the way. But that is going to change. The little one goes to school in two and a half weeks and I will actually have more time to write. For now, I’m starting simple with a book review. I had gone through a phase a while ago where I actually reviewed the books I read, so that seemed like a good place to start.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m not sure how I first heard about “Daughter of Smoke and Bone,” but I was able to get an audio file from the esync library and am very glad that I did. Unlike many of the reviewers on Goodreads, I knew almost nothing of the hype surrounding this book as I don’t fit into the intended audience, but I still loved it.


Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well.

So begins the story of Karou and Akiva. Karou is a 17 year old art student living in Prague. She seems like your average blue-haired teenager, but when she isn’t studying, drawing, hanging out with her friends or avoiding her ex, she is running errands for Brimstone, a “wishmonger” with portals into earth. Oh, and her hair grows in blue from a wish she once made.

This is the story of angels versus demons. It is the story of star-crossed lovers in a far-out version of Romeo versus Juliet. It is the story of the repercussions when two races refuse to try and get along and instead know only war.

Laini Taylor did a wonderful job with this story. Her writing style captures the reader quickly and has a lyrical quality to it. As I mentioned, I listened to the audiobook of this and found myself looking for excuses to put on my headphones in order to listen to another chapter. All in all, an excellent read.

View all my reviews

Responses

  1. I really enjoyed it too. I was sort of on a young adult fantasy kick after reading the similarly titled “Shadow and Bone,” written by a girl I went to elementary school with. (you should read it, too!) I lived in Prague for a while, so that aspect of Daughter of Smoke and Bone really appealed to me and I’m looking forward to the sequel.

  2. I work in a book store and for me it was the cover that caught my eye and after staring at it for awhile I finally decided to read it since not only had the cover caught my eye so had the synopsis. I am so glad I read it because I did end up loving it. I can’t wait for the next book in the series.


Leave a Reply

Categories

