Posted by: michelle @ books my kids read | January 23, 2010

meatless meals

I’m surfing again. Big shock. I know, I really should do something more productive with my time, but my brain cells are limited at the moment and there is nothing worthwhile on television. Since that’s the case, here are some fun things I’ve found.

  • The Burger Experience without the Beef – An interesting article in the NY Times about eating burgers without beef. Not necessarily without meat, but since there have been so many e. coli scares, they suggest five other ways of eating a burger. I’m particularly enticed by the mushroom burger with spinach and almonds.
  • Cold Quinoa Salad with Feta Cheese – I’ve been looking for recipes for quinoa and I can never get enough Feta, so I’m all over this one, although I actually also like the idea of eating it warm. I love warm salad grains with cold lettuces and cheese.
  • Entree Salads – The NY Times has some really great food articles. I forget about that some of the time, but the above beef article was from there and led me to another great look quinoa salad recipe – Curried Rice and Quinoa Salad. I think this is probably more of a lunch thing for me since I don’t think I could get anyone else to eat it, but that’s okay.
  • In the “I wish my husband ate eggs” category – The Kitchn has a Lemon Frittata with Leeks and Lemons that looks delish. I can eat almost any frittata. Although, now that I think of it, an even better sounding frittata is one with spinach and feta. mmm…feta.

I’m coming to realize that it’s okay to make things just for me, especially since I work from home and need to eat lunch here. Also, I haven’t made things like frittatas in a long time and maybe with feta cheese in one I could convince the munchkin to eat it. She’ll eat almost anything with feta involved.

That’s enough surfing for one night. I’m going to go read a book. G’night!


Responses

  1. Yum! Thanks for posting. I’m going to have to check these out to get more creative with my vegetarian cooking. Tonight we had sloppy “janes.” Again.


Leave a comment

Categories